Don’t Follow the Wind | A Summit

12 - 16 April 2017

Brown University & Art in General

A summit meeting with Kenji Kubota, Franco Mattes, Kota Takeuchi, Jason Waite, Ryuta Ushiro — the curatorial team behind the project “Don't Follow the Wind,” an ongoing exhibition started on March 11, 2015 inside the uninhabited, radioactive Fukushima exclusion zone caused by the nuclear catastrophe. The collaboration with 12 Japanese and international artists includes new commissions spread over three sites of homes and workplaces lent by former residents. As the zone is closed to the public the artworks remain inaccessible and largely invisible for years or decades to come. The panel participants were at Brown University and Art in General to work on the future plans of the project.

Artists included in the installations: Ai Weiwei, Chim↑Pom, Grand Guignol Mirai, Nikolaus Hirsch and Jorge Otero-Pailos, Meiro Koizumi, Eva And Franco Mattes, Aiko Miyanaga, Ahmet Ögut, Trevor Paglen, Taryn Simon, Nobuaki Takekawa, Kota Takeuchi.

Made possible with the support of Triangle Arts Association.

Don't Follow the Wind website →